Can tiny (or smaller) creatures typically never attack in melee?

The name of the pictureThe name of the pictureThe name of the pictureClash Royale CLAN TAG#URR8PPP





.everyoneloves__top-leaderboard:empty,.everyoneloves__mid-leaderboard:empty margin-bottom:0;







up vote
6
down vote

favorite












Movement:




You can’t end your movement in the same square as another creature unless it is helpless.




Tiny, Diminutive, and Fine Creatures




Very small creatures take up less than 1 square of space. This means that more than one such creature can fit into a single square. A Tiny creature typically occupies a space only 2-1/2 feet across, so four can fit into a single square. 25 Diminutive creatures or 100 Fine creatures can fit into a single square. Creatures that take up less than 1 square of space typically have a natural reach of 0 feet, meaning they can’t reach into adjacent squares. They must enter an opponent’s square to attack in melee. This provokes an attack of opportunity from the opponent. You can attack into your own square if you need to, so you can attack such creatures normally. Since they have no natural reach, they do not threaten the squares around them. You can move past them without provoking attacks of opportunity. They also can’t flank an enemy.




Given how I read this, since tiny creatures can't typically end their movement in an occupied square they can never make a melee attack without something like spring attack, long arm, etc.



Is this correct?







share|improve this question






















  • You might also be interested in this question.
    – Hey I Can Chan
    Aug 25 at 1:33
















up vote
6
down vote

favorite












Movement:




You can’t end your movement in the same square as another creature unless it is helpless.




Tiny, Diminutive, and Fine Creatures




Very small creatures take up less than 1 square of space. This means that more than one such creature can fit into a single square. A Tiny creature typically occupies a space only 2-1/2 feet across, so four can fit into a single square. 25 Diminutive creatures or 100 Fine creatures can fit into a single square. Creatures that take up less than 1 square of space typically have a natural reach of 0 feet, meaning they can’t reach into adjacent squares. They must enter an opponent’s square to attack in melee. This provokes an attack of opportunity from the opponent. You can attack into your own square if you need to, so you can attack such creatures normally. Since they have no natural reach, they do not threaten the squares around them. You can move past them without provoking attacks of opportunity. They also can’t flank an enemy.




Given how I read this, since tiny creatures can't typically end their movement in an occupied square they can never make a melee attack without something like spring attack, long arm, etc.



Is this correct?







share|improve this question






















  • You might also be interested in this question.
    – Hey I Can Chan
    Aug 25 at 1:33












up vote
6
down vote

favorite









up vote
6
down vote

favorite











Movement:




You can’t end your movement in the same square as another creature unless it is helpless.




Tiny, Diminutive, and Fine Creatures




Very small creatures take up less than 1 square of space. This means that more than one such creature can fit into a single square. A Tiny creature typically occupies a space only 2-1/2 feet across, so four can fit into a single square. 25 Diminutive creatures or 100 Fine creatures can fit into a single square. Creatures that take up less than 1 square of space typically have a natural reach of 0 feet, meaning they can’t reach into adjacent squares. They must enter an opponent’s square to attack in melee. This provokes an attack of opportunity from the opponent. You can attack into your own square if you need to, so you can attack such creatures normally. Since they have no natural reach, they do not threaten the squares around them. You can move past them without provoking attacks of opportunity. They also can’t flank an enemy.




Given how I read this, since tiny creatures can't typically end their movement in an occupied square they can never make a melee attack without something like spring attack, long arm, etc.



Is this correct?







share|improve this question














Movement:




You can’t end your movement in the same square as another creature unless it is helpless.




Tiny, Diminutive, and Fine Creatures




Very small creatures take up less than 1 square of space. This means that more than one such creature can fit into a single square. A Tiny creature typically occupies a space only 2-1/2 feet across, so four can fit into a single square. 25 Diminutive creatures or 100 Fine creatures can fit into a single square. Creatures that take up less than 1 square of space typically have a natural reach of 0 feet, meaning they can’t reach into adjacent squares. They must enter an opponent’s square to attack in melee. This provokes an attack of opportunity from the opponent. You can attack into your own square if you need to, so you can attack such creatures normally. Since they have no natural reach, they do not threaten the squares around them. You can move past them without provoking attacks of opportunity. They also can’t flank an enemy.




Given how I read this, since tiny creatures can't typically end their movement in an occupied square they can never make a melee attack without something like spring attack, long arm, etc.



Is this correct?









share|improve this question













share|improve this question




share|improve this question








edited Aug 25 at 16:46









SevenSidedDie♦

198k25631911




198k25631911










asked Aug 24 at 22:53









william porter

774114




774114











  • You might also be interested in this question.
    – Hey I Can Chan
    Aug 25 at 1:33
















  • You might also be interested in this question.
    – Hey I Can Chan
    Aug 25 at 1:33















You might also be interested in this question.
– Hey I Can Chan
Aug 25 at 1:33




You might also be interested in this question.
– Hey I Can Chan
Aug 25 at 1:33










3 Answers
3






active

oldest

votes

















up vote
13
down vote



accepted










Yes they can attack in melee normally



To requote the section in Fering's answer:




Very Small Creature: A Fine, Diminutive or Tiny creature can move
into or through an occupied square. The creature provokes attacks of
opportunity when doing so.




The key word here is "into" - this is not the same as "through". If this exception did not exist for very small creatures then there would be no mechanic by which more than one of these very small creatures could be in the one square, despite the section quoted by the OP clearly listing how many of these creatures can be in the one square.



So, the very small creature can move into the same square as its melee target and attack, it just risks an attack of opportunity for doing so.






share|improve this answer



























    up vote
    -2
    down vote













    Rules as written, yes, that's correct, unless they have flyby attack or something similar. Rules as Intended and Rules as Reasonable, however, would allow tiny creatures to be an exception.






    share|improve this answer



























      up vote
      -2
      down vote













      Goodpie2 is correct that you cant end your turn in the square, but you can squeeze into the square and move throught it. So spring attack and similar feats will be useful to you.



      Moving Through a Square




      A Fine, Diminutive, or Tiny creature can move into or through an occupied square. The creature provokes attacks of opportunity when doing so.







      share|improve this answer




















        Your Answer




        StackExchange.ifUsing("editor", function ()
        return StackExchange.using("mathjaxEditing", function ()
        StackExchange.MarkdownEditor.creationCallbacks.add(function (editor, postfix)
        StackExchange.mathjaxEditing.prepareWmdForMathJax(editor, postfix, [["\$", "\$"]]);
        );
        );
        , "mathjax-editing");

        StackExchange.ready(function()
        var channelOptions =
        tags: "".split(" "),
        id: "122"
        ;
        initTagRenderer("".split(" "), "".split(" "), channelOptions);

        StackExchange.using("externalEditor", function()
        // Have to fire editor after snippets, if snippets enabled
        if (StackExchange.settings.snippets.snippetsEnabled)
        StackExchange.using("snippets", function()
        createEditor();
        );

        else
        createEditor();

        );

        function createEditor()
        StackExchange.prepareEditor(
        heartbeatType: 'answer',
        convertImagesToLinks: false,
        noModals: false,
        showLowRepImageUploadWarning: true,
        reputationToPostImages: null,
        bindNavPrevention: true,
        postfix: "",
        noCode: true, onDemand: true,
        discardSelector: ".discard-answer"
        ,immediatelyShowMarkdownHelp:true
        );



        );













         

        draft saved


        draft discarded


















        StackExchange.ready(
        function ()
        StackExchange.openid.initPostLogin('.new-post-login', 'https%3a%2f%2frpg.stackexchange.com%2fquestions%2f130443%2fcan-tiny-or-smaller-creatures-typically-never-attack-in-melee%23new-answer', 'question_page');

        );

        Post as a guest






























        3 Answers
        3






        active

        oldest

        votes








        3 Answers
        3






        active

        oldest

        votes









        active

        oldest

        votes






        active

        oldest

        votes








        up vote
        13
        down vote



        accepted










        Yes they can attack in melee normally



        To requote the section in Fering's answer:




        Very Small Creature: A Fine, Diminutive or Tiny creature can move
        into or through an occupied square. The creature provokes attacks of
        opportunity when doing so.




        The key word here is "into" - this is not the same as "through". If this exception did not exist for very small creatures then there would be no mechanic by which more than one of these very small creatures could be in the one square, despite the section quoted by the OP clearly listing how many of these creatures can be in the one square.



        So, the very small creature can move into the same square as its melee target and attack, it just risks an attack of opportunity for doing so.






        share|improve this answer
























          up vote
          13
          down vote



          accepted










          Yes they can attack in melee normally



          To requote the section in Fering's answer:




          Very Small Creature: A Fine, Diminutive or Tiny creature can move
          into or through an occupied square. The creature provokes attacks of
          opportunity when doing so.




          The key word here is "into" - this is not the same as "through". If this exception did not exist for very small creatures then there would be no mechanic by which more than one of these very small creatures could be in the one square, despite the section quoted by the OP clearly listing how many of these creatures can be in the one square.



          So, the very small creature can move into the same square as its melee target and attack, it just risks an attack of opportunity for doing so.






          share|improve this answer






















            up vote
            13
            down vote



            accepted







            up vote
            13
            down vote



            accepted






            Yes they can attack in melee normally



            To requote the section in Fering's answer:




            Very Small Creature: A Fine, Diminutive or Tiny creature can move
            into or through an occupied square. The creature provokes attacks of
            opportunity when doing so.




            The key word here is "into" - this is not the same as "through". If this exception did not exist for very small creatures then there would be no mechanic by which more than one of these very small creatures could be in the one square, despite the section quoted by the OP clearly listing how many of these creatures can be in the one square.



            So, the very small creature can move into the same square as its melee target and attack, it just risks an attack of opportunity for doing so.






            share|improve this answer












            Yes they can attack in melee normally



            To requote the section in Fering's answer:




            Very Small Creature: A Fine, Diminutive or Tiny creature can move
            into or through an occupied square. The creature provokes attacks of
            opportunity when doing so.




            The key word here is "into" - this is not the same as "through". If this exception did not exist for very small creatures then there would be no mechanic by which more than one of these very small creatures could be in the one square, despite the section quoted by the OP clearly listing how many of these creatures can be in the one square.



            So, the very small creature can move into the same square as its melee target and attack, it just risks an attack of opportunity for doing so.







            share|improve this answer












            share|improve this answer



            share|improve this answer










            answered Aug 24 at 23:42









            KerrAvon2055

            1,323212




            1,323212






















                up vote
                -2
                down vote













                Rules as written, yes, that's correct, unless they have flyby attack or something similar. Rules as Intended and Rules as Reasonable, however, would allow tiny creatures to be an exception.






                share|improve this answer
























                  up vote
                  -2
                  down vote













                  Rules as written, yes, that's correct, unless they have flyby attack or something similar. Rules as Intended and Rules as Reasonable, however, would allow tiny creatures to be an exception.






                  share|improve this answer






















                    up vote
                    -2
                    down vote










                    up vote
                    -2
                    down vote









                    Rules as written, yes, that's correct, unless they have flyby attack or something similar. Rules as Intended and Rules as Reasonable, however, would allow tiny creatures to be an exception.






                    share|improve this answer












                    Rules as written, yes, that's correct, unless they have flyby attack or something similar. Rules as Intended and Rules as Reasonable, however, would allow tiny creatures to be an exception.







                    share|improve this answer












                    share|improve this answer



                    share|improve this answer










                    answered Aug 24 at 22:55









                    Goodpie2

                    193




                    193




















                        up vote
                        -2
                        down vote













                        Goodpie2 is correct that you cant end your turn in the square, but you can squeeze into the square and move throught it. So spring attack and similar feats will be useful to you.



                        Moving Through a Square




                        A Fine, Diminutive, or Tiny creature can move into or through an occupied square. The creature provokes attacks of opportunity when doing so.







                        share|improve this answer
























                          up vote
                          -2
                          down vote













                          Goodpie2 is correct that you cant end your turn in the square, but you can squeeze into the square and move throught it. So spring attack and similar feats will be useful to you.



                          Moving Through a Square




                          A Fine, Diminutive, or Tiny creature can move into or through an occupied square. The creature provokes attacks of opportunity when doing so.







                          share|improve this answer






















                            up vote
                            -2
                            down vote










                            up vote
                            -2
                            down vote









                            Goodpie2 is correct that you cant end your turn in the square, but you can squeeze into the square and move throught it. So spring attack and similar feats will be useful to you.



                            Moving Through a Square




                            A Fine, Diminutive, or Tiny creature can move into or through an occupied square. The creature provokes attacks of opportunity when doing so.







                            share|improve this answer












                            Goodpie2 is correct that you cant end your turn in the square, but you can squeeze into the square and move throught it. So spring attack and similar feats will be useful to you.



                            Moving Through a Square




                            A Fine, Diminutive, or Tiny creature can move into or through an occupied square. The creature provokes attacks of opportunity when doing so.








                            share|improve this answer












                            share|improve this answer



                            share|improve this answer










                            answered Aug 24 at 23:30









                            Fering

                            12.3k228108




                            12.3k228108



























                                 

                                draft saved


                                draft discarded















































                                 


                                draft saved


                                draft discarded














                                StackExchange.ready(
                                function ()
                                StackExchange.openid.initPostLogin('.new-post-login', 'https%3a%2f%2frpg.stackexchange.com%2fquestions%2f130443%2fcan-tiny-or-smaller-creatures-typically-never-attack-in-melee%23new-answer', 'question_page');

                                );

                                Post as a guest













































































                                Comments

                                Popular posts from this blog

                                White Anglo-Saxon Protestant

                                Is the Concept of Multiple Fantasy Races Scientifically Flawed? [closed]

                                One-line joke